ChaniBlog











{November 19, 2010}   meeeeeeeego!

whee :) the meego conference was fucking awesome. so awesome I was avoiding starting to blog about it ’cause I’m not sure so much awesome can fit into one post ;)

also, I have other things to blog about, like the other activity stuff I got in just before the freeze. I’ve got a blog backlog, which generally leads to having a bigger blog backlog. :P

So, let’s start with the conference. OMGWTFBBQ. I arrived saturday – also the day I finally started to speak full sentences of german. how ironic… anyways, I found the hostel ok, and then more people did, and we got over to the venue just at the end of the bridge-building contest. :) KDE wins at bridge-building: leinir’s group had the bridge that was unbreakable, even with all their weights – so I tried to hang from it, and then it finally broke. :)

That night we found an amazingly good indian restaurant (seriously worth the 30 euros I spent) and.. hmm. I can’t remember anything after that, but I think I just went back to the hostel to get a good night’s sleep. And failed horribly at that, thanks to some girls so drunk that even with earplugs and a blindfold they kept me awake (and no, not in a good way). :P Luckily I only had to put up with them for that one night, though. :)

Sunday was the pre-conference workshops… several of us stayed out at the front of the hotel for the morning, enjoying the sunshine, but eventually ervin herded us into the meego room to help with his qt workshop. :) That evening, Dawn taught us to play a game called Werewolf – it’s about the same as Mafia, and was a continuing obsession throughout the conference. ;) I think it was monday night that I left the game around 2am, and people were still playing until around 3…

Monday was the first day of the official conference. We found out that there we’d be getting lenovos – but didn’t actually get them until wednesday. Unfortunate for those hoping to demo things on them, but probably good for getting people to actually attend the sessions. ;) Speaking of which, there was a great community one by dave neary. I often had trouble deciding which session to go to :) plus I spent a lot of time wandering around getting to know people – or hooking them up with hardware ;)

Tuesday was more of the same, until the social evening – we went to the guinness storehouse, where they had lots of drinks and snacks and people telling us where we weren’t allowed to go (luckily I was one of the few to get up to the top viewing area). My UK-ish accent started returning around then, I think. I danced, learnt how to pour guinness, danced more, drank a lot, and ended up bar-hopping and speaking chinese with Ronan. :) I made it back to my hostel eventually, but I’m not sure when. ;)

Wednesday.. well, that was tuesday’s revenge ;) It was the unconference day, and I missed one session I probably should’ve been in and there was a few minutes of confused chaos, but it all got sorted out and I got my lenovo and in the afternoon I led (ish) a session on plasma and meego, which turned into a “requirements for getting kdelibs-mobile into core” discussion. That was quite… educational. There’s a huuuge culture gap between kde and intel (it was an intel guy in the session, nobody from nokia could make it unfortunately) and lots of awkwardness, but I think it turned out okay. :) Getting to actually talk about things in person helps dispell a lot of the misconceptions. This conference was wonderful in that regard – I arrived nervous and uncertain, worried that we’d be unwelcome outsiders, but it was nothing like that – everyone was there for meego, and it didn’t seem to matter where they were from kde/gnome/etc or intel/nokia/etc or anything, it was all good. :) We did find out that a lot of them have no idea what kde is, though – but now at least some of them have heard about kde-mobile and so on, so again misconceptions are reduced. :)

I didn’t want to leave the conference wednesday evening. I made friends there, and it was fun, and I hope I can go to the next one. That said.. god it was good to get home and be in my own bed again. :)

Now it’s friday, and I’m at the kde mobile sprint in berlin, and marco just showed us plasma running on meego :D and we’re running out the door for dinner now. :) later I’ll blog about how to get kde packages on your own meego. ..and all that other stuff. :)



gumb says:

For someone reading the normally rather reserved postings on Planet KDE, your opening sentence made me cackle. If I imagine your stated ‘British accent’ to have some Cockney inclinations then it seems funnier still. :)



Jaffa says:

There is video on my N900 of your Irish dancing. Not quite mean enough to put it on YouTube (mainly cos the YouTube Sharing Plugin for Maemo isn’t downloading from Ovi Store )



Comments are closed.

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

