ChaniBlog











{April 8, 2013}   Blogging Block

So… I was planning on blogging about my new job. That was 3 months ago. How the fuck did april sneak up so fast?

Every time I think about blogging, my mind blanks out or I overthink it, so I’m just going to start writing now and hopefully it won’t be too incoherent. :)

It’s been an interesting three months. I’ve been sick twice (or maybe three times), sprained my ribs, and I’m sure plenty of other things happened that I’ve completely forgotten about. Work has been good. I was expecting it to be nice to be around humans again, but wasn’t expecting just how much better it was. I was actually sad to go home the first few fridays. :) My co-workers are generally awesome people, and the company is small enough that there’s no real hierarchy, just smart geeks making awesome software… :)

The initial enthusiasm has worn off, of course, but I still get the occasional reminder of how lucky I am. Like when our boss was interviewed by a Vancouver Sun reporter, who was amazed that we never worked more than 40 hours a week and our boss didn’t call us at home. Yeah, the tech sector in vancouver has a bit of a bad reputation.

A funny thing, though: I spent the first month or so of my iOS job working on android. :) We did that little Map of the Internet thing you may have heard about. That was fun. I learnt to loathe eclipse, though, and was surprised at the android bugs I had to fight with – some in obscure classes, some not so obscure. Oh, and there are 2500 different bloody devices out there, so no matter how many you test on, there’s always another one out there with weird bugs. :P I did love the android documentation, though. They did a really good job of explaining how to do things the Android Way.

Since then I’ve been working on internal code, which is all objective C. I’ve mostly got the hang of the language (thank god everything uses ARC now) but I still don’t quite grok Cocoa. And of course it’s irritating that when I’m confused by something I can’t just go RTFS and find out what the hell the developers were doing. XCode is far less irritating than Eclipse (with the possible exception of interface builder), but it’s also far less helpful; objC is just C enough for you to shoot yourself in the foot, and just dynamic enough for you to have no idea which foot you’ve shot. :)

I think it’s time for bed now. maybe I’ll post another random blog post another day… if I remember… :)



vishwaje says:

First of all good luck..
What’s up with KDE conributions?



Chani says:

Like I said in my previous post, I’m just going to focus on work for now. And maybe some offline hobbies. I haven’t had much of any time for them, even.



unix0 says:

Thanks for android vs iOS comparison. However the one I’d really love hearing about is Qt/KDE vs iOS.



Chani says:

hmm… that’s a hard one, seeing as one was designed to be a desktop toolkit and the other was designed for one specific phone. :) I’ll think about it…



Comments are closed.

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

