ChaniBlog











{July 18, 2007}   uhoh

so, I was about to change the license on my little scraps of pyqt code to be gpl3. then I discovered a problem: qt is gpl 2 only. from what I know of the gpl, that might make it impossible for me to use the (incompatible) gpl3 license for any of my qt code. since the python code isn’t actually being compiled into a binary I’m not 100% if this is true… but I’m fairly sure it would be true for my c++ code, at least.
this looks like it could be a problem.
a problem that could become quite big. for many people. meep.



robbat2 says:

Check out this item, I think you might be blocked still:
http://trolltech.com/developer/knowledgebase/195/



jwickers says:

Yes that is a problem for the whole KDE libs and apps too.
QT is _not_ gpl3, samba is gpl3, and then you write an application or library in the middle of this (like smb kio) …

Should that be a feature request for a IDE ?
*** [error] link error – incompatible licensing

:D



me says:

Has trolltech told anyone their views on GPLv3?



Chani says:

I emailed TT and got a reply:

“We are currently evaluating the impact that licensing Qt under GPLv3 (it
is currently GPLv2 only) would have for our dual licensing model. In
particular, the in-house development clause that is new in GPLv3 will
have some impact on our business model, or at least require a certain
amount of positioning (and thus preparation).”

so I guess we’ll have to wait and see. I do wonder when they started thinking about this – I mean, gplv3 went through a nice long draft process, so I’m not sure why they didn’t work things out back then…

also, I’m not sure what he means by “in-house development clause” – I just reread the gplv3 twice, and can’t see anything like that. then again, I am quite tired right now.



They’re talking about the second paragraph of “2. Basic Permissions”.



me says:

I think its some lawyer code of honour never to make decisions based on a draft licence. I can’t see any reason for it but then I’m not a lawyer.



[…] uhoh so, I was about to change the license on my little scraps of pyqt code to be gpl3. then I discovered a problem: qt is […] […]



Comments are closed.

et cetera
