ChaniBlog











{December 4, 2007}   sigh

when I got home from class today, I asked aaron to find me a nice easy bug to solve – and after committing the fix for that, my motivaton began to return, just as I’d hoped. I started poking at some other bits of code, then settled into trying to figure out why deleted applets were returning on login. almost missed lunch ’cause I was so lost in the code ;)
when I found a hacky quick-fix for that, aaron told me it wasn’t safe, and pointed me towards another part of the code… I spent several hours poking around in there, trying to figure out why things weren’t being deleted when I could see the delete calls in there… and someone else told me that aaron had fixed the problem himself in kdelibs a few days ago (I hadn’t updated, because kdelibs takes aaages on my poor little comp).

my motivation fell right back to zero again. considering this seems to be the general way things go with plasma and me lately, I’m finding myself wondering why I’m still trying :/ plasma just makes me feel so *stupid*. either the problem turns out to be something on my machine, or it’s not a real problem at all, or I’m completely misunderstanding it in some way… I just can’t seem to get it. what the hell changed between SoC 2006 and now? :(

of course, I have other reasons to be depressed right now, so I’m well aware that I’m not in the most rational of moods. it wasn’t long before other people commented on not being able to remove applets (with up-to-date code), so I started to look into it again, after waiting aaages for kdelibs and kdebase. at first it seemed like the behaviour actually got *worse*, and then it was switching back and forth between perfect behaviour and completely refusing to delete stuff – so I cleaned out my .kde entirely, and that seemed to fix it. I’m 90% sure that it really is fixed. can never be quite certain with these darn things.

anyways, by the time I had confirmed that, the day was essentially over. huh. and to top it all off I had to reboot because intel i810 and runnning two x sessions are a risky combinaton – knetworkmanager wouldn’t work for a while after that, and I never did figure out why.
so on the one hand it was fun to spend most of a day buried in code, but on the other hand it was pretty frustrating that the only productive part of it was right at the beginning. I guess I at least understand a bit more of how KConfig works now.



Anon says:

Plasma is complex, ambitious, and in constant flux – I don’t think anyone should feel bad if they can’t tame it straight away :)



Uwe Thiem says:

Chani, don’t feel bad about it.

I have a little project brewing on my harddisk. It’s all my own code, and I should be pretty familiar with it by now. ;-) No GUI yet, so the complexity of being event driven isn’t there yet.

Still, I am searching for and thinking about the right data structure for over a year now.

What I am trying to say is that sometimes things seem to be slow. You are accumulating bits and pieces without much outcome. Then one day, you hit the point where quantity transforms itself into a new quality, things speed up and the pieces fall into place.

I have given up pushing myself during the slow period. It’s needed to facilitate – actually to create – the state when the flow is fast and smooth.

Uwe
(climbing down from his soapbox)



Lee says:

Hey, don’t stress so much. Today, you enjoyed coding for a while, and then you didn’t. Maybe tomorrow, you’ll enjoy it all day. Either way, you shared a little moment of coding/contribution pleasure, and inspired a few others. As long as we’re all sharing something positive, we’ll all be more inspired, and better off in the end.



Quique says:

By the way, thanks for fixing that bug :-)



Chani says:

thanks for the encouraging comments, guys :)

I might, maybe, have accomplished the beginning of something:



Marius says:

Hello Chani. I for one think you’re a good programmer and I want to learn C++, QT so I can work on the things you do. If you ever feel depressed about not getting too much done just think positive :). Oh and find fun things to do. Go for a walk , in a club ,listen to some music, whatever makes you happy.
Just be glad you don’t have to work on code you don’t like. That’s what I have to do every day here at work , fix bugs in some crappy Java code. I just wish I could rewrite it all, it’s so useless. And sometimes it’s hard to reproduce the bug and it only happens sometimes and multi-threading is a pain in the *** too.
But I’ve been doing bugfixing for so long now I might become an expert at it. By the way what do you use for bugfixing ? We use Eclipse of course.



Comments are closed.

et cetera
