ChaniBlog











{January 29, 2008}   another busy day.

so sunday and monday I did nothing. dunno why, just didn’t feel like doing *anything*. :(
this morning I got woken up (multiple times) by my friend phoning me. I thought I was never going to see here again; turns out there was a mixup with the dates she’d told me, and she had gone to hainan earlier than I expected, but now she’s back for a few more days :) yay.

so eventually I decided it was time to get up, and went out with her for a fancy lunch. yummy kiwi drink, mushroom soup, veggies with cream sauce, a chocolate cake-like dessert… all of it was amazingly delicious. :) tourist prices of course, but well worth it.

after that we went to the hairdresser – she was scared to go alone in case they misunderstood and messed up her hair, and I’d been avoiding it for the same reason. now I wish I’d gone months ago; it was great :) they washed our hair, and I got a massage before my haircut, and then afterwards I chatted with some of the hairdressers ’cause my friend’s hair still wasn’t done (straightening takes aaages). and all that for only 20 kuai each (about $3); in canada I’d have to pay $20 just for a normal haircut.

after that I had to go shopping, urgh. I hate shopping. I was a little stressed when I couldn’t find the right type of batteries at haoyouduo (type C is always a hassle) but the third salesperson I talked to went to a pile of boxes and started searching; I think he was on the tenth box when he finally found them :) so now I have my batteries, and a mini adaptor plug for my laptop so I don’t have to lug a whole power bar up to beijing with me (uhh, now let’s hope the thing I bought does work in beijing!).

I should have stopped for dinner on the way home, really. I almost forgot about food again. guess I’ll head back out now… urgh, but I’m just so drained. I wish I could just pull something out of a freezer and microwave it…
still, today was fun. so yay. and there’s still a bit of snow on the ground, sorta.



Thomas Zander says:

you waited *months* since going to the hairdresser? Whoa, I thought only guys did that :)
Must be a geek thing, then…

So, did you cut it all off, or is it still long(ish)?



Chani says:

well, when I first came to china – back in may – I had no hair. :) got it cut off for a fundraiser, remember? so I wanted to grow it out for winter, have something to protect my ears a bit at least.

it’s not much different from before it was cut – but now it looks like a hairstyle instead of just a pile of hair. ;) I think I lost more than an inch off the back… and it was almost long enough to get into a ponytail too :/ I’m always torn between wanting to get it cut, and wanting to have it longer.

I think this is actually the first time I’ve paid for a haircut in… umm… 3 or 4 years? or maybe longer, since the first time I did the fundraiser thing it hadn’t been cut in a while and was getting split ends. (dying hair is a terrible thing to do to it – the bleaching makes it so weak and unhealthy-feeling…)



Thomas Zander says:

I personally didn’t remember a fundraiser, I’m now having some wild thoughts about how you must have been looked upon when travelling without hair ;)

Honestly, I have no clue what you look like. (you could be a dog for all I know *grin*). But, (sorta) short haired it is!

Sounds like you should at least have another haircut before you fly back to Canada, the massage alone is worth it.

Cheers!



Comments are closed.

et cetera
