ChaniBlog











{February 15, 2008}   : dear lazyweb

if I could have only one livecd (cd, not dvd) to show off kde on an oldish laptop, what should it be?

also, am I crazy, or is there a strange lack of kde4 promotional stuff out there? I’m gonna be at a conference in a couple of days, and people might be asking me questions about kde stuff, and I am *terrible* at marketing… what do I say to them!?

(btw, I’m testing a theory: if I put a ‘:’ in the subject line, will planetkde not eat what’s after it?)



It should be kubuntu :P

not sure if the kubuntu kde4 livecd is out yet… hmm…



lp says:

Here is a openSUSE based KDE4 live-cd:
http://home.kde.org/~binner/kde-four-live/



suy says:

Chani, if you are worried why planetkde.org doesn’t show the subject of your posts (it shows your nick instead), it’s because of a RSS problem with wordpress.com sites.

I administer a planet where some of my subscribers had this problem, and it was fixed adding “?mrss=off” to the end of each wordpress.com feed.

I mailed clee on february 5 about this, but I didn’t receive any response. If you can contact him (or other administrator that you know), please, maybe he will be more responsive with a mail from a subscriber. ;-)



I remember that a good year ago I got Slax (a Slackware/KDE-based livecd) to run on a laptop that was quite outdated already (read: should be 4 years old now) and had only 64 MiB of RAM.

…KDE on Slax ran on that box quite good all things considering :)



Ark is still heading towards getting one such out – but we’ve run head-first into a stop-block with xorg – https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13104 – but rest assured, we’ll get it out ;)



randomguy3 says:

If you put a picture in the post with the blog title as its caption, the title will then show up on the Planet. However, if there is a : in the caption/title, everything up to the : will get swallowed.



Chani says:

well, I burnt the opensuse livecd (1.0.61) – later I’ll test it out and use it to do a backup.



[…] : dear lazyweb if I could have only one livecd (cd, not dvd) to show off kde on an oldish laptop, what should it be? also, am I crazy, […] […]



Comments are closed.

et cetera
