ChaniBlog











{August 18, 2008}   soc week 12 / a sad end to a great akademy

another monday, another country. I’m in spain right now visiiting a friend. we’re going to tear ourselves away from the computers soon, but I thought I’d write a quick blog entry first.

the rest of akademy went pretty well. wednesday there were usability talks. I got a bit of code written and was reminded of how much I hate dbus. found a nice little restaurant and had a really good meal – probably the first evening where everything went well. when we came out of the restaurant there was a concert going on. beer and music – what more can you ask for? :)

thursday was the social. I wasn’t feeling so great so I went back to bed after breakfast, then woke up in a panic thinking I would miss the boat. I ended up getting there quite early after all – I need to worry less. :) it was a great boat trip (although in retrospect wearing a dress on a windy boat was not the smartest choice) and afterwards some of went to a nearby city, leuven, for karaoke. that was pretty awesome too, but we didn’t realise that friday was a holiday, so we couldn’t get a train back until 6:30 the next morning. doh. so we slept through half the day and then got to the campus just before they cut off the wifi.

saturday we headed to brussels… shopping was attempted, but I wasn’t really feeling up to it. I really need to take better care of myself next akademy so that I can enjoy things better.

sunday I had to get up at 5am to get myself to the airport. I had to take a taxi, two trains and a bus… everything was going quite smoothly until I woke up on the second train and realised my backpack wasn’t with me. I’d got onto the train thinking I was wearing it when I wasn’t. the conductor called the station and had them search, but it was already gone. :( I went to the police and made a statement (had to leave my email addy instead of my phone # because my phone was in my backpack) and they were nice enough to give me a lift to the airport, but I don’t think I’ll ever see any of that stuff again. :( no more laptop, no more phone, all my notes are gone, my student ID (hope it doesn’t take long to replace that), my usb key, my harmonica, juggling balls, pills… luckily there wasn’t anything vital in there (I made backups somewhat recently) but losing my pills could suck, depending on how long it takes to get them replaced, and losing my laptop really sucks. anything important I wrote down during akademy is gone, too. I lost a couple of commits I hadn’t pushed (so no real soc progress), I can’t hack, I have to wade through email with gmail’s simplisic web filters… it could have been a lot worse, though. it all still feels like a bad dream, and being slightly sick doesn’t help.

oh well. I got lots of sleep last night, so I feel less dead, and I should go enjoy the sunshine now. and buy a new toothbrush.



notmart says:

oouch, sorry to hear that, it sucks :(



Every travelers nightmare. :/



Sebastian Sauer says:

shit :-(



Chani says:

yeah. I’m trying really hard to not freak out about it, and to enjoy my vacation. feeling a lot better this afternoon.



When I was studying abroad I lost my entire main suitcase. One pair of clothes, no toothbrush or other toiletries for awhile, and at the time I had about $100 (US). It was retrieved a month later but was sent back to the States as opposed to Ireland (where I was). I’m sure it will turn out OK in the end, but at least you still have clothes to wear.



Comments are closed.

et cetera
