ChaniBlog











{September 24, 2008}   more rambling about my laptop

well, the not-so-perfect aspects of this laptop are beginning to show.

last week I configured xorg… my synaptics touchpad worked right away, but composite… didn’t. there’s a known issue with my graphics card on techbase, but the workaround suggested didn’t work for me… someone said that xorg 1.5 worked for him (although it broke other things on his system), so I think I’ll be patient and wait for a stable release of that before trying anything else.

more disturbing are the hardware quirks… one night I got two kernel panics out of the blue – capslock and numlock flashing, not even the mouse would move. thankfully it hasn’t happened again, but stuff like that is unsettling. also, a few times a day one of my keys randomly sticks. sometimes *not* the one I was actually pressing. shoddy hardware there, I guess :/ the only other time I’ve seen anything like that is when my wireless keyboard would get low on batteries.
oh, and suspend-to-disk failed to resume once… but it had been through loads of suspend cycles, both to ram and to disk, so I forgive it ;)

oh, and while the webcam worked automagically with zero effort (all I installed was skype!) the builtin mic doesn’t seem to be working. not a big deal – using a real mic is better anyways – but mildly disappointing.

on the bright side, I *finally* compiled kde yesterday, and today I got it running properly. I’ll still use packages for the applications, but obviously I can’t write code for plasma without compiling it myself ;) oh, and my compiled kdesupport gave me phonon-xine, which makes phonon Just Work again, yaay :)

now I just have to go report a few extremely annoying konq bugs involving unnecessary modal dialogs I can’t disable… er.. waiit, I was supposed to be studing math :P
…oh hey, i triggered the keyboard thing again. if I hit y and u at the same time, u stays down until I hit any key. it’s very hard to trigger intentionally, though.



Med says:

Have you run memtest? Random kernel panics may just be a symptom for a faulty RAM.
For the sticked keys, it may be a kernel problem. I had a similar problem which got magically solved using a more recent kernel.



mike says:

I wouldn’t assume the hardware is to blame for the random key sticking. It used to happen on mine too but I haven’t had a problem for 6months now, probably after I upgraded my distro (using opensuse now).



Hilefoks says:

> someone said that xorg 1.5 worked for him (although it broke other things > on his system), so I think I’ll be patient and wait for a stable release > of that before trying anything else.
I’m sure this person was speaking of the XServer (which reach version 1.5 three weeks ago). Also X.Org 7.4 (the XServer 1.5 is part of that release) was released today.



Chani says:

med: i meant to run memtest, but i completely forgot. remind me again tonight :)



bencook2 says:

The sticky keys could be your keyboard layout. Sometimes the distro doesn’t choose the right one or somebody ( ie. me ) goes and changes it trying to get special keys to work, and while they end up working, sometimes the system thinks a key is being pressed, but in reality its just a ghost keypress ( i did this and couldn’t remember the default so had to rm ~/.kde4 and it is exactly as you describe )



Comments are closed.

et cetera
