ChaniBlog











{January 17, 2009}   campkde, day 0

wheeee! I got off the plane in jamaica, and felt the relaxed atmosphere at once. :) the customs line was horrendous, but I met up with some other gearheads there :) and after much delay we were off to the resort. I wasn’t expecting it to be such a long drive… we got to see some of jamaica before dozing off, though. it kinda looks like a clean non-asian version of china, to me. ;) oh, and we bought peanuts from one of the street vendors who run alongside the cars to sell their stuff.

the resort has a beautiful little sandy beach by the bar/restaurant, and the water is only a few yards away. lovely mild water (I won’t call it warm, but it’s not freezing), hardly any rocks or seaweed or driftwood or other annoyances that are everywhere in vancouver waters… there was a bonfire on the beach, and after dinner several of us ended up going out for a swim… god, looking up at the stars from the water on a warm night is just… breathtaking. so many stars, and the waves and the air are just so relaxing… :)

of course, this a conference, not a vacation… so it was just a matter of time before geekiness returned ;) I kinda started a discussion about plasma out there in the waves. it was a bit hard to have discussions with big waves randomly crashing down on us, but we managed. (ok, they seem big to *me*, I’ve never seen a wave big enough to unexpectedly dump water on my head while I’m swimming before.)

eventually we came in and stood around hte embers of the fire, which were still quite warm, and I scribbbled down some notes on what we’d discussed. I won’t worry about those now, I can think more about them later now that they’re safely on paper. :) more people arrived, yay, and …. and it’s 2:30am and breakfast is at 8:30. bedtime! perhaps I’ll blog some more tomorrow. :)

this place is incredibly relaxing. great place for a conference. great place to be in general, really.



Jucato says:

“of course, this a conference, not a vacation…”

I wonder how many times you all will have to reminds yourselves of that during the camp. :D



Vacant Heart says:

oh well, Jamaica’s awesome. never been there, but you know the travel channel’s showing places like that all the time.

lucky you, I’d say! only the conference is a bit of a spoiler! :(



[…] 18, 2009 Chani started with “Day 0“, but I’ll try to stay positive.  That’s a math joke people.  Other attendees […]



Diederik van der Boor says:

> so it was just a matter of time before geekiness returned ;) I kinda started a discussion about plasma out there in the waves. it was a bit hard to have discussions with big waves randomly crashing down on us, but we managed.

Lol, that’s indeed geecky. :-)

plasma vs waves: 1-0



Comments are closed.

et cetera
