ChaniBlog











{March 31, 2009}   not dead yet

so I haven’t blogged in quite a while. what have I been doing?
…I’m not quite sure, really. little things.

me and marco were working on a new toolbox thingy for hte ZUI, so that you don’t see a bajillion “add activity” buttons and so on. I was doing the non-gui side of it, so I never blogged, and afaik he never got around to it either… :) oh well. hopefully it’ll make the ZUI a bit less awkward in 4.3.

school continues to be school… a steady stream of assignments. except… there’s only one week left. hard to believe. just as I’m getting used to it, it’s over… well, except for exams.
although actually I’ve been off sick for over a week now. I’ll probably go back tomorrow. got a nasty bug that’s been going around, but I’m getting better. :) that kinda threw a wrench into the works, though – I was too sick to do much of anything for a while, then I had to scramble to catch up on homework, so my soc application suffered and I haven’t done much about upcoming conferences and I *still* haven’t done taxes. :/

anyways, I did eventually submit my gsoc application. it’s about making plugins for reacting to clicks on the desktop. so once again you’ll be able to have an application menu come up when you right-click, or a windowlist, or whatever else someone comes up with, and you can bind the plugins to other mouse buttons too… :)

it’s not a shiny rock-star project like social desktop stuff or plasmate, but it’s useful, I know there are people who want it, and I wanted to work on something practical in the core of plasma this summer. :)



charly says:

Hey, great idea. That was the first that annoyed me in that brand new KDE. I first thought it will be reimplemented soon, then lost any hope and get used to moving my mouse to the corner…
But I still miss this middle-click->window list, right-click->menu thing.

Thanks!



mutlu says:

Great project. There is such a wish in the KDE Brainstorm forum: http://forum.kde.org/make-mouse-click-on-desktop-background-configurable-t-39381.html



Wilhem says:

A few of the ZUI problems are that there is no button to access it directly (you need to zoom out from the chashew and that might no be visible). Also its use is slow and clumsy, you should probably try to find some inspiration on something like the gnome-shell, how it can manage multiple “activites” (not like KDE4 ones, but interesting nonetheless) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcpndKUx4pc

(also it seems to be the second post entitled “not dead yeat”, is someone out to get you? or may I suggest to use “still alive” next time?)



Comments are closed.

et cetera
