ChaniBlog











{June 12, 2009}   and this is why we need the usability people (gsoc week 3)

whee! I have a config dialog. it configures.
well, sorta. it still has a couple of bugs, “configure” and “about” do nothing, and you can’t turn off a plugin.

oh, and it’s ugly as sin.


don’t gouge your eyes out just yet, though ;) I promise it won’t stay like this. today I was focused on getting the insides working; tomorrow I’ll start working on appearance. last month I spent some time talking in #kde-usability, and came out with ideas on how to make a presentable UI.

it’ll probably require model-view, which I’m not really looking forward to. I’ll probably need some more help from usability people and people who have experience making a UI feel like KDE, too. but it’ll look better before it goes into trunk. :)

oh, and some good news! scripty is finally happy with my git additions. thanks a bunch to tsdgeos, chusslove, pinotree and the other translators for putting up with my constant questions and the weekend of breaking scripty. :) and remind me that I need to document some of that before I forget what it was I was going to document…



Anon says:

“oh, and some good news! scripty is finally happy with my git additions. thanks a bunch to tsdgeos, chusslove, pinotree and the other translators for putting up with my constant questions and the weekend of breaking scripty. :) and remind me that I need to document some of that before I forget what it was I was going to document…”

Rocking – thanks for taking care of this (rather ugly-sounding) task!



OK if you are learning the programming of it and you need to do that so you fill your mental toolbox with the necessary tools.

BUT, I think you need to design it from the user’s point of view:
what task(s) is the user trying to do, using the huge processing and memory resource of the computer – how can we make those tasks easy and fun to do?,
avoid jargon like plugin and program code being exposed like LeftButton, vague nouns for an action item like test (how about try it).

Usability is not just the look, although that is part of it. I’m a technical person, but I’m not sure what this dialogue does or how it works.

Off the top of my head:
the user is selecting a mouse profile – have say two predefined for left handed and right handed users, and an user defined one;
the about button, replaced with a short description with a button or link to more information;
a slider for slow (tortoise) to fast/dexterous (hare) users or perhaps better, the computer could time the user clicking and double clicking a number of targets.

Some users will not have the time or confidence to explore each button and configuration option.



Chani says:

please, don’t try to analyze that dialog. I said it was ugly as sin.

it will change *completely*, so there’s no point commenting on it.



guest says:

i love that blog theme, especially the drawing :)



I love your blog theme as well, but I am still wondering if or what you were asking?



Comments are closed.

et cetera
