ChaniBlog











{January 19, 2010}   campkde day…. something

huh. it’s tuesday evening already? time flies…

sunday evening me, troy and rrix got out the karaoke machine. :) the song selection wasn’t great, but that just made it more entertaining. ;) by the end everyone was joining in, I think.
karaoke tends to involve drinking, though… I had a bit much, and didn’t really want to go anywhere the next morning. After I got up and got lunch, the weather was getting stormy… I decided to just stay at the hostel for the rest of the day. :/ I wish I hadn’t missed that cmake training.

so then I discovered just how unprepared for rain california is. the power went out in the common room, so there was no internet… the corridor was a river, half the table was being rained on, and one guy’s bed was under a leak too. :/ we had to resort to crazy old-fashioned things like talking and playing guitar ;)

Eventually someone ran an extension cord to the common room, which gave us tv and partial internet. :) I stopped playing backseat-scrabble and joined in the wii games and movies. Pan’s Labryinth is.. a slightly dark movie, but good.

When we got back from dinner, some old Dune movie was on. I walked in at just the right time to see Chani introduce herself – and she pronounced it properly! yay :) nobody at the hostel has any excuse for getting my name wrong now ;)

Tuesday morning started off nicely with pancakes and bacon, thanks to rrix. :) Then we were off to storm brewery for a nice little tour and a yummy lunch (have I mentioned I love the food here?). The storm was blowing tree branches onto the road that afternoon… We split up when we left the brewery, with some people going to the aquarium, most going to UCSD and then most of the people at USCD going to Fry’s electronics. that took a lot longer than I would’ve liked, but I finally have a proper charger for my n900 – and I found some nice headphones too :)

Now we’ve got delicious pizza and snacks, and we’re sitting around hacking and whatnot, at the nice *dry* university. :) I’m lookng forward to the qt training tomorrow, but I already miss the people who had to leave early.



Ryan Rix says:

Next time I will cook them correctly. With butter instead of vegetable oil, and a stove that isn’t binary between “ZOMGHOT” and “cold…” That way we don’t end up with little burnt shells full of raw pancake mix. :|



Ffejery says:

“When we got back from dinner, some old Dune movie was on. I walked in at just the right time to see Chani introduce herself – and she pronounced it properly! yay :) nobody at the hostel has any excuse for getting my name wrong now ;)”
Woo… which (re)make was that? The one I watched pronounced it quite differently.



Comments are closed.

et cetera
