ChaniBlog











{August 24, 2010}   still alive

wow, it’s been over a month since I blogged. Time flies.

I’m still working away on OdfKit; unfortunately it doesn’t lend itself well to screenshots. I could show you the pretty green and red of tests passing and failing, I suppose. ;)

I can’t bring myself to work all the time in this beautiful weather, though. At the beginning of august I went to Shambhala, a big music festival out in the woods. :) A week of camping, music, and hugs – it was amazing. The stars… the river… the sets… the food… the people… the costumes… the land… it was beautiful, spiritual, simply amazing. :)

Surprisingly, I also left shambhala with more money than I went in with. :) On the second (or so) day there, I found a guy doing body painting by donation. I wanted my face painted, but didn’t have much cash on me, so I gave him a massage instead – and then had the idea of doing massages by donation too :) He let me use his paints to make a sign, and pretty soon I had my own line, and people were donating an average of $20 for a 15-minute massage. :) For the rest of the festival I offered massages when I was in the mood (or, once, when I was $10 short of the price of a really pretty dress ;) and earned enough money to buy all the pretty clothes and good food I wanted. :) I also met lots of people that way, and I enjoy giving massages, so it was fun *and* profitable. :) Maybe I’ll give up programming and become a masseuse. ;)

Since getting back from shambhala, I’ve been trying to spend a bit more time outside and take advantage of the sunshine while it lasts. a week ago I went to a couple of festivals; yesterday I went to the beach for the first time this summer. :)

I’ve also been running around dealing with some extra paperwork; I now have a visa to go do whatever I like in germany, and I’ll be spending the next semester in Berlin – and hopefully visiting several other places in Europe. :) I may be speaking at the openSUSE conference (they haven’t told us yet), and I’ll try and make it to the MeeGo conference too (oh, they extended their deadline, maybe I ought to submit something?). It’s gonna be an awesome semester. :)



Irina says:

Wow! When you’re in Berlin, come and stay with us for a bit and we’ll feed you awesome veggy food again!



armijn says:

At LinuxCon there were free massages (sponsored by Linux Foundation). Maybe we could have something like that for the next desktop summit? :-P

If you are in Berlin around Christmas you might want to check out the CCC conference http://events.ccc.de/congress/ (nothing for 2010 there yet)



Comments are closed.

et cetera
