ChaniBlog











{September 21, 2010}   First week in Berlin

My first week here has been… fairly uneventful, actually. I spent a few days trying to get errands done and resist jetlag, got sick for the weekend, then went back to getting stuff done (plus a little hacking). :)

Pete’s friends have an impressive games collection. I tried to capture *most* of the board games part:

and then this caught my eye:

yes, aaron’s got his very own game. ;) It turned out to be a japanese teaching game, which would be fun to play – but I came home that night with a chinese book, would’ve had a latin one if J didn’t need it for some class she’s teaching, and I’m still fending off their attempts to get me back into esperanto ;) so I think I have enough languages on my plate already. Hell, today was probably the first time I tried to speak more than one word of german…

On the weekend, ossi came to say hi, and we ended up discussing activities. I’ve got a patch on reviewboard now that exposes kwin’s stuff, which will be useful in several ways. :D

Oh, and it turns out Berlin’s cheap rent is deceptive: when they say an apartment is unfurnished, they really mean it’s an empty, gutted shell. :P There’s a lot of paperwork involved as well, and apparently they’re not keen on renting to foreigners. :/ Pete managed to find one that came with kitchen cupboards, a stove, and light fixtures… but that’s it. Other than that, there’s not so much as a curtain rod. I’m surprised they didn’t take the showerhead too…

Pete bought some furniture and dishes before I arrived, but we’re still waiting for the fridge to arrive. Today I found a dollar store and got lots of little things like teatowels and garbage bins and so on… There’s still lots more we need; it’s fun to go shopping. :) But it’s turning out to be a bit more than we’d budgeted for. They don’t use craigslist in germany, and the big secondhand shop we went to was mostly full of clothes. :P

Other than that (and this damn cold) things are nice, though. Berlin is a city of good food and cheap beer :) and the weather’s a lot like vancouver (either it rains, or it bounces between rain and sun every hour)… it’s a lot more windy, though, so it feels colder.

Next weekend I should be over the jetlag and the cold, so hopefully I can get out and see what this city is like at night. ;) I hear some extra KDE folks will be in town too – whee, it’s pretty cool to be so close to so many of you. :)



Karsten says:

For second hand furniture check out the Zweite Hand, it’s basicly the craigslist for berlin.

http://www.zweitehand.de , even though their front page currently is a bit on the ‘red light’ part of life…



m says:

“Second hand” is a term almost exclusively used for clothing. So when you want to buy second hand furniture, dishes etc. you just have to keep an eye open for little stores which are bursting with old furniture, dishes etc. There are lots of them in the less wealthy parts of the city.

Or you go to the fleamarket near Treptower Park. It’s right next to the concert-/event-hall “Arena” http://arena-berlin.de/gelaende.aspx

It’s open saturdays and sundays.

Have a nice stay!



Matt Rogers says:

Crap! Everybody is leaving North America in droves! First you, now Aaron. Soon I’m going to be the only KDE person left in North America! ;)



ReinoutS says:

Hey Chani! Nice talking to you and Pete tonight. Hope to see you at the desktop summit next year.

Don´t forget, purple T-shirts are very special! ;-)



Comments are closed.

et cetera
