ChaniBlog











{November 5, 2012}   my own sweet and sour sauce

Every time Pete brings home chinese food, I’m reminded how delicious sweet & sour sauce is… and how much I hate the “chicken” it’s on. In true chinese fashion, the meat gets the good sauce and the tofu gets.. well, it can barely be called a sauce at all. I think there might be some msg on it? :P
So, I finally got around to making my own damn sauce. :) I looked at a few recipes online, merged them, and made substitutions where I had to. It didn’t turn out exactly how I wanted it (mainly because I couldn’t get pineapple chunks) but I’m recording it anyways so I can tweak it next time.

 

The instructions (or my interpretation of them) are fairly simple: throw most of the ingredients in a pot, bring it to a boil, then add a mix of 2:1 water and cornstarch (mixing it beforehand gets the lumps out more easily).

I used:

  • one cup of water
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup mixed go chu jang and tomato paste (because I didn’t have ketchup)
  • between 1/3 and 1/2 cup brown sugar (it was too lumpy to measure well, because it wasn’t stored properly)
  • 1/2 tsp soy sauce
  • around 1tbsp finely grated ginger (I just stopped when I was tired of grating)
  • 1/2 can (~9oz) shredded pineapple (it’s just not as good as the chunks, though…)

and for the cornstarch mix:

  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 4 tbsp water.

 
I think I’m happy with the level of sweetness, even with all that pineapple juice.. :) once it was on my tofu it looked like proper sweet&sour sauce, too – but in the pot it looks reddish-brown thanks to the ketchup-replacement and brown sugar.

 
I guess I should have taken a picture. oops. too late! :)



et cetera
