ChaniBlog











{January 25, 2012}   the easy way to import from git into svn

At Eljakim (my new employer), work repositories are all svn (lowest common denominator), but several of us access them via git-svn. I’ve created a couple of new ones recently, but thanks to timezones, I never get an svn repo until I’ve already done a day’s work (in git). Getting those commits into svn without losing history is a simple thing when you know how – but when I googled, all I saw were strange and crazy hacks involving arcane commands I didn’t understand. So, here’s the easy way:

  • Check out the svn repo
  • git svn clone https://url.to/svn-repo

  • Make a folder for your work (assuming it’s not already there)
  • cd svn-repo
    mkdir chani
    touch chani/temp
    git add chani/temp
    git ci
    git svn dcommit

  • Check out just that folder
  • cd ..
    git svn clone https://url.to/svn-repo/chani merge-repo

  • Connect it to the git repo
  • cd merge-repo
    git remote add mygit /path/to/git-repo
    git fetch mygit
    git checkout -b mymerge mygit/master

  • Rebase your work on top of svn
  • git rebase master
    git checkout master
    git merge --ff-only mymerge

  • Clean up the temp file (is thre a way to just commit an empty dir in git?)
  • git rm temp
    git ci

  • And send it to the server!
  • git svn dcommit

  • Switch back to the primary repo (optional)
  • cd ..
    rm -rf merge-repo
    cd svn-repo
    git svn rebase

Of course, you don’t have to delete the merge repo, you could keep using it as your primary repo – but the way things are set up here I always end up wanting my checkout to be a level above that. :)

Edit: Also, make sure you move or delete the original git repo once the commits are safely in svn. I spent half the day continuing to work in the pure git repo after blogging this… >.< oh well, at least I just had to copy&paste off my blog to fix it. :P



Hi, I don’t fully get, what is the purpose of the second git merge-repo?
I’m also using git-svn, and typically, I make a “git svn clone” and then just happily use “git svn dcommit” and “git svn fetch” or “git svn rebase”.
That should be enough when working on SVN repositories from git.



Chani says:

umm.. the point is I have a git repo. that I want to import. hence “import from git into svn” and not “commit to an svn project with git-svn”



I think one can’t have totally empty directories in git, but you can add an empty .gitignore file to temp and have it almost emtpy



Paul Gideon Dann says:

Yeah, the “official” way of having an empty directory is, as Kevin said, to use a dotfile. I usually use .gitignore, but you’ll also often see .gitkeep, which is arguably more sensible. These files are very important in the Ruby on Rails community, which is heavily into git in general, and needs empty directories quite frequently for generated log files, pid files, cache etc…



Dmitry says:

I think it’s much more simple just to install SubGit (from subgit.com) into your SVN repository (of course, if you have an access to the server, do you?),
and just to use pure Git interface.

Of course, then you will need to setup a Git access, here’s an example how to do it with git-http-backend:
http://subgit.com/documentation/svn2git.html



Chani says:

neat! I didn’t know about that. :) I don’t have access to the server, of course, but perhaps I can convince whoever does to install that sometime…



Comments are closed.

et cetera